Square Peg Round Hole The BSide Session

Square Peg Round Hole is a band based out of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania comprised of percussionists Evan Chapman, Sean M. Gill, and Carlos Pacheco-Perez. The group formed in 2011 while studying music at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, in Bloomington, Indiana. Square Peg Round Hole has developed a following due to its eclectic style, drawing from a wide variety of influences. The band has shared bills with artists such as Built To Spill, RJD2, Dan Deacon, This Will Destroy You, The Joy Formidable, The Reign of Kindo, Dawn of Midi, Mount Eerie, and many more.

Square Peg Round Hole joins us in the studio for a BSide (August 31, 2014).

Square Peg’s music combines elements of contemporary classical, electronic, ambient, indie rock, post-rock, and minimalism, and features a vast array of instruments including secretary bells, metal pipes, glass bottles, children’s toys, drums, synthesizers, and more. The ensemble has also collaborated with up & coming composers, commissioning and premiering new works for percussion.



Recorded on August 31, 2014 at Mobtown Studios

Drums and percussion by Evan Chapman, Sean M. Gill and Carlos Pacheco-Perez

Produced by Mat Leffler-Schulman, Nick Hughes and Sean Mercer

Engineered by Paul Mercer and Sean Mercer

Mixed by Paul Mercer

Filmed by Justin Foreman, Nick Hughes and Sean Mercer

Edited by Nick Hughes

Photography by Tedd Henn

Photography post-production by Cassandra Robbins

Interview by Aaron Henkin

Audio post-production by Aaron Wold