Jukebox The Ghost The BSide Session

Shortly after releasing their fourth album, the Washington, D.C. trio Jukebox The Ghost swung through Baltimore on tour, fitting a Mobtown BSide session into their busy schedule. The band, which features alternating lead vocals from keyboardist Ben Thornewill and guitarist Tommy Siegel, also recently began to include vocals from drummer Jesse Kristin on its self-titled album. And the trio’s slick harmonies became a big part of their BSide.

Jukebox The Ghost joins us in the studio for a BSide (November 14, 2014).

“We kind of settled on a sound for this record in particular that’s almost more of a big, broader, poppier version of our band,” says Siegel of their 2014 self-titled album. And while Jukebox The Ghost alludes to some headier influences with their name, which was inspired by both Captain Beefheart and Vladimir Nabokov, the trio has come to embrace their role as a self-proclaimed “pop” band. “It’s been a long road as a band to figuring out what it is that we’re supposed to be doing,” explains Siegel. “Jesse came from a more punk background, Ben’s kind of from more of a classical/jazz school of thought and I like a lot of like angular punky guitar driven stuff.”

For the band’s BSide, Jukebox The Ghost took on two songs from their latest album, “Long Way Home” and “Undeniable You.” For the latter, Thornewill was anxious but excited about the decision to switch from electric piano to an acoustic upright piano. The result was a rendition of the song with a more spare, intimate atmosphere than the original album recording, in line with the band’s live shows.


Recorded on November 14, 2014 at Mobtown Studios

Vocals, piano and electronics by Ben Thornewill

Guitar and vocals by Tommy Siegel

Drums by Jesse Kristin

Produced by Mat Leffler-Schulman, Nick Hughes and Sean Mercer

Engineered by Sean Mercer and Paul Mercer

Mixed by Mat Leffler-Schulman and Paul Mercer

Filmed by Joe Austin, Nick Hughes and Sean Mercer

Edited by Nick Hughes

Interview by Aaron Henkin

Photography by Tedd Henn

Photography post-production by Cassandra Robbins

Audio post-production by Aaron Wold

Thanks to Ben Thornewill, Tommy Siegel, Jesse Kristin, Gabe McNatt, Meah Pollock, Lisa Kaneff and This Fiction