Hot Club Impromptu

Hot Club of Baltimore is a world class ensemble specializing in the early Jazz of the 1930’s and 40’s with particular emphasis on the music and style of French guitarist Django Reinhardt. The band is led by acclaimed guitarist Michael Joseph Harris and features the captivating Alexis Tantau on vocals in both French and English.

Hot Club’s debut album Place de Brouckère features 14 top area musicians including Cèsar Orozco on piano, Patrick McAvinue on violin, Joseph Brotherton on trumpet, and John Dierker on clarinet. Hot Club performs in many configurations, from a duo to a 10-piece band, representing the wide variety of ensembles led by Django Reinhardt from the 1930’s with violinist Stephane Grappelli, through his later period when he included horns, drum set, and piano.

Guitarist Michael Joseph Harris started The Hot Club of Baltimore in December of 2012 as a duo to perform the Django Reinhardt repertoire in Baltimore. The band grew to a larger ensemble by mid 2013 and by 2015 included 14 top area musicians on the debut recording Place de Brouckère. The core group is made up of Harris with guitarist Sami Arefin and bassist Eddie Hrybyk, but often includes violin, piano, clarinet, trumpet, drums, and vocals.

The Impromptu sessions at Mobtown were grueling, often lasting up to 16 hours at a time! The band made great use of the different isolation rooms in the studio, often having the upright in the back, sax in the bathroom, rhythm guitar in the control room, lead guitar in the live room, and violin or vocals in the front room. Vocals were performed by Alexis Tantau and other musicians included violinist Matt Andrews and clarinetist John Dierker.


Mixed and engineered by Evan Kornblum

Mastered by Charlie Pilzer