Greasy Hands Phantasmagoria

Producer Mat Leffler-Schulman had the honor of working with Greasy Hands on their forthcoming album. They are currently in the process of finishing it up, but in the meantime they’ve released another single, “Phantasmagoria” Mat mixed with the band. Check it out. It’s epic piano jams.

Greasy Hands’ long-awaited self-titled debut album is a recording that could have only been made after nearly a decade of honing an eclectic but cohesive sound that feels equally at home in singer-songwriter territory and laying down some serious funk. In other words, it was well worth the wait.

At the core of the Baltimore band, formed in 2011, is Aaron Walker on piano and keyboards, Andrew Schuster on drums and guitar and Coleman Anderson on bass and guitar, all sharing vocal duties. And while the band has experienced a handful of lineup changes, what may have caused tumult in lesser bands, Greasy Hands turned into opportunities to collaborate live and in the studio with an all-star cast of Baltimore musicians.

The eponymous 12-track album was recorded at Mobtown Studios in Baltimore and Israel Nash’s Plum Creek Sound in Austin with producer and engineer Mat Leffler-Schulman (Future Islands) and Matt Gerhard (Spoon) and mixed in collaboration with Evan Daniel Kornblum (Pocket Bells, Outcalls) at Stages Music Arts in Cockeysville, MD.  Mastered by Alex Saltz (Vampire Weekend) of APS Mastering.

The record is a triumphant showcase of the group’s musicality with tracks ranging from heart wrenching ballads to fantastical progressive compositions. While the band often uses live shows to flex it’s improvisatory muscles, the Greasy Hands collective is equally at home in the studio and uses the medium to expand the sonic possibilities of its texturally robust song list.

Recently joined full time by seasoned guitarist Ari Lesser (Puremotion, Grant’s Tomb, Matt Krenz & The Divine) the band is poised to showcase their ever-innovating sound to audiences far and wide and will be touring in support of their record throughout the second half 2018.


Keyboards, vocals and piano by Aaron Walker

Drums by Andrew Schuster

Background vocals and bass by Coleman Anderson

Background vocals and guitar by Charles Grandis Blatt

Produced and mixed by Aaron Walker

Mixed and engineered by Mat Leffler-Schulman

Mastered by Alex Saltz

Engineered by Matt Gerhard